Published each Thursday
Neighbor-to-Neighbor News

Serving Springville, Concord, Ashford, West Valley, Collins, Colden and East Concord


Former gridiron Griffin receives academic accolades at Hobart College

Brandon Ball, a Springville-Griffith Institute alum and former member of the Griffins’ football team, was one of 10 Hobart College football team members recognized for academic excellence as a newly inducted member to the Hampshire Honor Society, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced April 11.

Majoring in economics and philosophy, Ball is a three-time Liberty League All-Academic Team selection and a two-time College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District pick.

The Hobart senior and first team All-Liberty League pick had 52 tackles this past season, including a career-high nine stops in his final collegiate game, a 51-12 win at Rochester. Ball led Hobart in tackles for loss with 12 and was second with 4.5 sacks.

A two-year starter, Ball appeared in 31 career games, accumulating 106 tackles, 24.5 tackles for loss, 9.5 sacks and five forced fumbles from his defensive end position.


Hobart ended its season with a 7-3 overall record and 3-2 in the Liberty League. It was the Statesmen's 10th consecutive winning season, the longest streak in the program's 124-season history.

The Hampshire Honor Society has recognized college football players for the last 12 years from all divisions who have completed their eligibility and maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average or higher.

The 10 Hobart members of the Hampshire Honor Society Class of 2018 surpassed the program record for honorees by four, with the classes of 2010, 2015 and 2017 all having six honorees. Since 2007, 47 Statesmen have earned a spot.

Nationwide there were 1,251 scholar athletes who garnered membership to the Hampshire Honor Society in 2017. In addition to Ball, his nine other teammates to join him in the honor include: Michael Clancy, Lawrenceville, N.J.; Christian Coons, Windham, Maine; Alex Helm, Fallston, Md.; Dylan Quay, Latham; Zackary Robak, Haddam, Conn.; Rio Schmidt, Mason, Texas; Shane Sweeney, Phelps; Stephen VanHoesen, Niskayuna and Zachary Withers, Webster.


Add Your Comment

Recent Photos

View All Galleries