Published each Thursday
Neighbor-to-Neighbor News

Serving Springville, Concord, Ashford, West Valley, Collins, Colden and East Concord


Registration deadline and candidates for village elections announced

CATTARAUGUS COUNTY— The last day to register to be eligible to vote in the Cattaraugus County village elections is Friday, March 10, Board of Elections Commissioners Michael Brisky and Kevin Burleson announced.

Village elections will be Tuesday, March 21 in Cattaraugus County, from noon to 9 p.m. This year, local elections will be held in the villages of Cattaraugus, Ellicottville and Gowanda.

Voter registration applications can be obtained at the Board of Elections office, 207 Rock City St., Suite 100, Little Valley or from the Board of Elections website Voter registration forms are also available at any local post office, county or state agency, as well as from city, town or village clerks.

Absentee ballots are available to eligible voters. The deadline for applying for an absentee ballot by mail is Tuesday, March 14, but voters may apply in person through Monday, March 20. 

New York State Election Law requires voters to register with the Board of Elections by the close of business (5 p.m.) on Friday, March 10 to be eligible to vote in the village elections. Applicants must be 18 years of age on or before village election day, a citizen of the U.S. and have lived in the village for at least 30 days before the election.

In the village of Gowanda, candidates for mayor for a two-year term are Samuel D. Castellano, Forward Party and David L. Smith, Gowanda on the Move Party; trustees running for a two-year term include Carol Sheibley, Allegiance; Jack Broyles, Public Rights and Paul Zimmerman, Open Door.

The candidate for mayor in the village of Cattaraugus is Wirt Smith, running on both the Democratic and Republican tickets; there are two seats available for trustee and the candidates include Jacob Crawford, Democratic; Robert  Botsford, Democratic; Jacob Crawford, Republican and Robert Botsford, Republican; Diane Wienk is running for a one-year term on both the Democratic and Republican tickets.

In the village of Ellicottville, two seats are open. Those running are Gregory Cappelli and Spencer Murray, both running on Republican tickets.

For more information, contact call 938-2400.


Add Your Comment

Recent Photos

View All Galleries