Published each Thursday
by
Neighbor-to-Neighbor News

Serving Springville, Concord, Ashford, West Valley, Collins, Colden and East Concord

events

Shake on the Lake comes back to Springville

SPRINGVILLE—Shakespeare is making a Springville appearance Wednesday, Aug. 1, when Shake on the Lake presents Richard III. Scheduled for 6:30 p.m. at Heritage Park, the professional theater company brings the work of William Shakespeare to audiences of all levels.

Families and individuals are encouraged to enjoy the play, which incorporates physical comedy, improvisation and music. The play will begin at 6:30 p.m. at Heritage Park. In the event of rain, the performance will be moved to the Springville Center for the Arts Mongerson Theater, 37 N. Buffalo St. Performances are free and open to the public.

“Richard III” is one of 38 plays written by William Shakespeare. According to the Royal Shakespeare Company’s website, it tells the story of a jealous and deceitful Richard, the duke of Gloucester, who is determined to win the throne away from his newly-crowned older brother, Edward IV, following the end of the War of the Roses. He also makes it his mission to marry Lady Anne Neville, whose husband, the Prince of Wales, and father-in-law, Henry VI, were murdered under order from Richard, the RSC website also states.  

Shake on the Lake will be on tour with “Richard III” through Saturday, Aug. 11. Schedule for the production is as follows:

Thursday, July 26 at Wadsworth Homestead, Geneseo; Friday, July 27 at Williams Park in Dansville; Saturday, July 28 at Morgan Manning House in Brockport; Monday, July 30 on the front lawn of the Attica Historical Society; Tuesday, July 31 at the Arcade Village Park sledding hill; Wednesday, Aug. 1 at Heritage Park in Springville; Thursday, Aug. 2, Friday, Aug. 3 and Saturday, Aug. 4 at Perry Public Beach; Monday, Aug. 6 at St. Joseph’s Park in Rochester; Tuesday, Aug. 7 at Yates Community Library in Lyndonville; Wednesday, Aug. 8 at the Oak Orchard Harbor Lighthouse at Orleans Marine Park in Point Breeze; Thursday, Aug. 9 at Centennial Park in Batavia; Friday, Aug. 10 at the downtown gazebo in Ellicottville, 8 p.m. and Saturday, Aug. 11 at the Angelica town square.

Unless otherwise noted, all shows begin at 6:30 p.m.

Comments

Add Your Comment
Search

Recent Photos

View All Galleries